Lighthouse "Bornrif" at Ameland in April 2005. Visitors can climb to the top (360-degrees-panorama) over 234 steps and 14 floors.
In the second floor is a museum, in the last but one a rebuilt observation room.
At first the tower had the double number of red and white rings, but they weren't visible correct from sea.
During World War II the optic was destroyed through the own marine. After the war the tower got a constant light
and in 1952 the actually optic.
(works since May 10st 1881,
height of building 55.3 m, height of fire 58 m,
range of light white 30 sm,
characteristic [Fl(3) W 15s] three flashes every fifteen seconds,
int. No.: B 0920)
coordinates (GPS) : 53°26'57.3''N - 05°37'32.2''E
In 1988 the old lantern was removed through a newer on und stands today in the museum
"Abraham Fock" in Hollum.